Toledo Parking Violations Bureau
227 North St. Clair Street
Toledo, OH 43604
Located within the ParkSmart Service & Information Center
For More Information
Request Outstanding Ticket Information
Q: What are the expired meter fines?
Effective May 3, 2004
Initial Fine $10.00
After 15 Days $20.00
After 30 Days $35.00
Q: How do I pay my fine?
- You have 3 convenient options:
- Mail-submit a check or money order for the appropriate amount payable to ParkSmart Toledo Parking Violations Bureau in the envelope provided. Never send cash.
- In person-visit the Toledo Parking Violations Bureau in the ParkSmart Services and Information Center at 227 North St Clair St, Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
- Online- Pay Fines Online
Q: What if I want to dispute a parking citation I’ve received?
- You have the right to appeal a parking citation within 15 days from date of issuance. You can begin the appeal process by:
- Mail- Click here to download an appeal form. Please fill out the form, explain your circumstances. Be sure to mail this form along with all required documentation to ParkSmart 227 North St Clair St, Toledo, OH 43604.
- In person- Please bring your citation to our office and fill out the required appeal form.
- You will be contacted by our Violations Bureau Manager regarding your appeal.
Q: What happens if I don’t pay the fine?
- Unpaid parking citations may be sent to an outside collection agency after 90 days.
- As defined in the Ohio Revised Code, Section 4521.10, failure to pay after accumulating 3 citations or 1 single citation for parking in a handicap space subjects you to Ohio’s D.E.T.E.R. program (administered by the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles), at which time you will incur additional charges, a vehicle registration block by the State of Ohio, and/or towing and impoundment by the City of Toledo’s Ordinance.
Q: What is D.E.T.E.R.?
- D.E.T.E.R. is an acronym that means Drivers with Excessive Tickets Excluded from Registration
- If you allow 3 parking citations or 1 single handicapped citation to go unpaid, the State of Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles will place a registration block on your social security number.
- You will be charged an additional $5.00 per citation for each citation that is blocking your registration.
- With the D.E.T.E.R. block, you will be unable to renew any current vehicle registrations or register any recently purchased vehicles in your name until the block is removed, as defined in the Ohio Revised Code, Section 4521.10.
- If you have co-signed on a vehicle for anyone, your registration is also subject to being blocked if three or more citations, or one single handicap citation are issued against the license plate.
Q: How will I know if my registration has been blocked?
- You will receive a notice directly from the Ohio Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Motor Vehicles, which will list the citation(s) submitted for D.E.T.E.R. This letter does NOT necessarily list all citations against your vehicle, therefore, it does NOT reflect your entire balance due.
Q: How can I get a registration block removed?
- In order to receive a release form for a D.E.T.E.R. block, you must pay all open citations on your account.
- Cash, Check, Discover, MasterCard or Visa are the only methods of payment accepted to release a registration block.
- If you require an immediate release, you must make your cash or credit card payment (I.D. required) in our office, located at 227 N. St. Clair St. Toledo, OH 43604. If you elect to pay by check or on-line at our website, your release will be held for 10 business days.
- IMPORTANT NOTE: The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles and Deputy Registrar’s office WILL NOT accept payment for citations.